[ Well, Hello – July 21st, 2013 ]

July 21, 2013 Comments Off on [ Well, Hello – July 21st, 2013 ]

ImageSo I’ve been gone from the blogging world for quite some time, just over a year actually – 13 whole months! Many things in my life were going on, many changed, many made 180s follow by 360s followed by 45s followed by – I think you get the point! But regardless, I’m in the mood to write again, whether its for me or someone else or for everyone and everything in-between – either way, for some reason I need this right now so I’m doing it. I’ve really missed writing, I’ve only been writing for school the last year – I completely put aside any journalism (and really, photography as well) to focus on getting into graduate school and really focus on finishing my BA and Anthropology – which I’ve done now if you can’t tell by the overly happy and grainy photo from graduation of me and one of my best friends from undergrad (Jaclyn Ortiz – who is an AWESOME musician, you should look her up).

So I suppose I should give a little run down of my last year, eh? I talked a lot about school and my goals in life previously on my blog so I figure it makes sense to try and ‘clue people in’ to how things have progressed! Well I worked as a TA at DePaul for both Fall and Winter quarters which was an awesome experience – it really helped me to figure out I would love to be a lecturer and teach one day, I really thoroughly enjoyed it (even having to explain multiple times at 7am that Paleontology is NOT a part of Anthropology, but its okay – I understand the confusion… the first 5 times you hear other students ask me…) I took the GRE last July and started applying for Biological Anthropology/Archaeology programs in November. I ended up applying to Syracuse University, University of Central Florida, University of Tennessee Knoxville, and the University at Albany (SUNY)… well… I got into two programs! I ended up getting into UCF’s MA program and UAlbany’s PhD track program… it was actually a bit of a hard decision since I already had spoken with my possible advisor at UCF and my parents are still down there but… in the end I chose UAlbany – I couldn’t pass up getting into a PhD program (a particularly big deal for someone who has a GED, not a standard high school diploma and statistically speaking shouldn’t be in a grad program, let alone a PhD one) and I’ve missed New York so much.

ImageSo long story short my time at DePaul came to an end in June. I graduated with my BA – majoring in Anthropology, double majoring in Art Media and Design (with a photography concentration), and minoring in Communication and Media. I’ve already moved to Albany – though I’m not living in the city itself, which was a nightmare! Word to the wise, never try and move to another time zone 2 days after graduation and only 5 days after your last final was due – its a horrible idea. Learn from my mistakes!

Right now I’m spending the summer (and hopefully the foreseeable future!) volunteering at the New York State Museum in their Osteology Lab helping with documentation types of things. I’m looking for something to do for work since the job I had didn’t work out (lets not even go there – but in summary I was fired for reporting someone who verbally threatened me and physically blocked me into a corner while trying to force me to talk to them) and I intend to start blogging again! Hopefully I can mix in some science and fashion posts during the week – maybe one of each if I can find the time, because those are my two loves in life!

Science is my professional passion but fashion will always be a personal one!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ Well, Hello – July 21st, 2013 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

