[ Fashion Ethnography – May 1st, 2012 ]

May 1, 2012 Comments Off on [ Fashion Ethnography – May 1st, 2012 ]

We started our Ethnography projects last week, or well I suppose we had our write-ups do before them but we actually had to start going out in the field to do our preliminary research which is due on the 4th.

I’m really excited about mine, for someone whose not interested in Anthropology, Fashion, or Marketing you’ll probably start gagging and wondering how the hell I could be interested in such a thing. My project is going to be looking at the Collegiate idea of Fashion. More specifically I’m going to be researching how important image (and I mean on a Fashion level) is the the Collegiate and how important they think it is to their every day lives. Do they think its important to look presentable for their advisor? How do they dress when they go to interviews? How do they dress at school? Do they think its appropriate to wear whatever they want infront of a teacher they may want to write a recommendation for a job or graduate school for them? I want to answer all of these questions and I’ll likely come up with a few more along the way.

We’re in the Preliminary Observations stage right now – that means I get to go and wonder campus and take notes on the type of outfits and style I see. I’m trying not to go into this too biased with too many pre-set categories of ‘dressers’ and ‘Fashionistas’ at DePaul, but I already have a generic idea of how the chips may fall as far as categories go. I want to add a lot of visuals (photos, possibly sketches) but the project doesn’t really call for that, because of the topic of my Ethnographic project I’m hoping the Professor will let me include at least a few pages – at least in my final report. Doing a project on Fashion, after all, is really nothing without the visuals.

The Colligate Life

After this portion of the project, we move on to the interview phase. Now normally this wouldn’t freak me out – I mean after how long I worked for CollegeFashionista I’m pretty used to talking to random strangers, but finding someone to sit down and talk with me for the required 30 minutes? That freaks me out a bit, I feel like its where I’m really going to run into problems. Now, that’s not because I don’t think people will be willing but I’m going to be pulling aside students who are rushing between classes and I’m just a little nervous its going to be really hard for me to pull off. If anyone is interested or feels like they know someone who might be who would have the time between classes I’d be glad for the opportunity to speak with them/you! I’m trying to keep this as random as possible by not asking people that I at least know their opinion on how important image is, but I know its going to be hard to get people to interview.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ Fashion Ethnography – May 1st, 2012 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

