[ To Dig, or Not to Dig – April 24th, 2012 ]

April 24, 2012 Comments Off on [ To Dig, or Not to Dig – April 24th, 2012 ]

I’m super excited this week – despite an awful cold I’ve had since Friday plus side effects for a new medicine to treat my Fibro Myalgia, plus Pickles (poor thing) is also sick, its not winter what’s going on! – well okay anyway! We start doing field world in the Archaeology Field School this week at DePaul!

Off to Dig

Its 5 weeks of digging on possibly historical properties out in Maywood, Illinois trying to help the city really find its history – its supposed to be a long running thing in the department if Dr. Gregory has his way. This is the second semester DePaul has been out in Maywood. I’m just excited because, well, I was that little girl who read Egyptology books and loved studying about old stuff and Mythos even as a kid, I mean I was never set up to be who I was trying to be at the beginning of my collegiate career – and my parents certainly weren’t shocked I made a complete 180 back to my childhood obsessions. Digging up sites and trying to figure out where old houses may have been, where someone dumped their trash, what type of nails and what not they used in their buildings (great for dating things!), who lived there… these are all interesting to me, even if they might be boring to someone else.

Yes this is one big ramble, for that I apologize, its the migraine and sniffling puppers.

Its not the most exciting project, but I’m excited regardless, having field school experience will be great for grad school applications as well as trying to find internships.

I’m afraid this’ll be another boring personal update. I’ve spent all weekend just trying to relax and… in the process watching all four seasons of Parks and Recreations, I’m sincerely glad I finally gave in and just watched the show because even though, yeah, the first season was kinda blah and sucked – sticking it out was totally worth it the third and fourth seasons are pretty universally hilarious.

Now starts the ridiculous time of the year. Catching up a chapter in French, doing my field study for Ethnography, starting field work in Archaeology, my 10 page paper for Forensics (which I still need a topic to research or book to review – eek!), and starting a realism project I’m really stoked for in Sculpture. Its certainly going to keep me busy for the rest of the quarter, thankfully!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ To Dig, or Not to Dig – April 24th, 2012 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

