[ Fight the Downpour – April 20th, 2012 ]

April 20, 2012 § 4 Comments

A nasty cold has me late once again! This rather gross weather outside doesn’t help to get one motivated either – but it can make for some good writing inspiration!

The Transitional

How is it one dresses in this disgusting weather? I find myself wanting to bust out my Spring fashionables and colours (those lovely purples and nudes and natural-stone tones I’m seeing everywhere make me die of happiness inside!) but its so nasty out this time of year that I find myself stuck with the b’s of Winter (that’s black, bronw, and bland by the by!). My Spring fashionables just don’t seem to live up to the test of this weather. Then I remembered something lovely about layering – there’s no problem with a little overlap of your winter staples into your spring wardrobe to weather-proof but keep it blooming!

First, a good pair of ankle boots is important for anyone who lives… well anywhere that isn’t near the Equator. They’re great for snow, rain, and can be worn during the summer to edgy up your favourite sundress. I suggest going for black always as it has the most versatility, but I myself have been eyeing some brown boots to add to my wardrobe since my black ones get so much use out of them.

Second, wraps and denim/flannel! Want to wear that cute nude tank top you bought when we got a glimpse of spring/summer weather that just POOF disappeared? Well wraps and overshirts are a must for any wardrobe, they’re great ‘transitional pieces’ things you can wear 80% of the year and you can throw over a cute dress or top if its a little chilly out. Wraps are great because, well we all know scarves in summer is a little taboo but on those days where it might get a bit chilly – they double up!

Lastly, a staple you should invest in during these Transitional times is jeans with some ‘pop’ to them. I know, I know how scene kid right? Wrong. I’ve always kinda had a thing against coloured denim – but I’m beginning to think that’s because they were neon back then. These new corals, purples, reds, and pastel denims? I’m kinda falling in love with them and they’re a great way to spice up any outfit!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to [ Fight the Downpour – April 20th, 2012 ]

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ Fight the Downpour – April 20th, 2012 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

