[ A little bit of Retro – March 30th, 2012 ]

March 30, 2012 Comments Off on [ A little bit of Retro – March 30th, 2012 ]

Thankfully, I have really good friends who have really great taste and make my Fashion Friday posts ridiculously easy.

Unthankfully I can not find my sunglasses at the moment and my lazy self is taking one of my only Fridays off this quarter as a day of rest and relaxation so you don’t get many photos of me or my sunnies specifically.

Retro has been a big thing for a few years now, but I never got into the trend of out-there or super trendy sunglasses until I received these lookers from my bestie, Zarah (zarahlee.tumblr.com). Typically I was either a simple, big and black or aviator style of shades girl but these have been the only pair to grace my face since I first opened our customary belated Christmas exchange.

The great thing about Retro shades is the diversity. You don’t have to dress retro to wear these or other smashing sunnies. You can dress edgy, feminine, retro, biker, relaxed – really the ideas are endless. Personally I wear them every day but my favourite outfits to pair them with thus far have been: an oversized bilowy, black button-up with panneled leggings, and ankle boots & a simple coral shirt with a high-waisted circle skirt and my favourite oxford heels.

Another awesome thing about Retro shades right now is, like this pair from ModCloth, they aren’t one-dimensional and just your traditional turtle shell any more! They come in patterns, pleasers, and most importantly pastels. Now I’ve never been a huge pastels girl but I’ve been won over by the mints, corals, pinks, and nudes of this and last year – they’ve made me a convert and I’m loving it.

Pictured:
Shades – Primark
Blouse – Primark
Bracelet – JewelMint
Rings – (Bottom) Marc by Marc Jacobs (Top) Forever21
Nail Polish – Color So Hot it Berns, OPI
iPhone case – Otter (buy one and buy one now, they are phone savers)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ A little bit of Retro – March 30th, 2012 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

