[ round 9 – February 17th, 2012 ]

February 17, 2012 Comments Off on [ round 9 – February 17th, 2012 ]


My schedule for next quarter is going to be moderately ridiculous. I’m taking three Anthropology courses: Ethnographic Research Methods, Archaeology Research Methods, and Forensic Anthropology (!!!!!!!!), one studio art course: Beginning Sculpture, and I’m retaking French 103 as a refresher course for having to take 104-106 last year and knowing quite well that it’ll be a bad idea to go back into a French class when I haven’t been in one (by that time) for a year and a half. Plus that was the quarter I started having my pain issues and, well, lets just say my grade suffered. I’m quite excited regardless, well except for this whole Friday class thing but its an Archaeology lab so at least it’ll hopefully be fun!

I’m mostly excited about Forensic Anthropology. And by excited I mean beside myself – I squealed when I got my e-mail from the department chair approving me for it. I think my favourite part is the professor, M. Aiello who I’m taking this quarter for Intro to Bio-Anthro told me that I should prepare for the course with a -colouring book-. Yup, he at that moment became my favourite professor in existance. I really hope he lets me TA Intro to Bio-Anthro Spring or Fall quarter, I think I’d die of happiness. I made sure Spring quarter I’d be able to TA time wise but I dunno if he’ll let me cause he knows I have a sort of ridiculous schedule and thinks I should drop one of my classes so I doubt he’ll be up for putting even more pressure on me.

I really am truly excited for this quarter though, beside French which is an unfortunate necessity I’m stoked on all the classes I’m taking. All of them are of interest to me or something I find myself at least curious to learn about.

I know I’m putting too much pressure on myself, but I really want to graduate on time and to do so I’ve gotta commit to 5 classes a quarter. It won’t be as bad afetr this quarter – I’ll be done with my major lab courses and done with my studio art classes so that’s a big relief as far as difficulty and time consuming as far as my courses go.

I’m just going to power through it. I could moan and cry and let it defeat me and just throw my hands up and add on an extra year of school but I won’t. I will beat it, I will get out of here, I will get myself on the path to where I want to be and I will be happy – because I’m getting there, I am. I’m getting back to really being happy and that, in itself, makes me happy.

I really slacked on a post this week and I’m sorry but it’ll get better next week with the new posting schedule! I know I don’t have a huge following or anything, but writing is cathardic to me and I like doing it even to keep my friends and family up with whats going on in my life.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ round 9 – February 17th, 2012 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

