[ i know, i know – 05.20.11 ]

May 20, 2011 Comments Off on [ i know, i know – 05.20.11 ]

I know, I know. I keep saying I’m going to update more and get back on track with taking care of my blog beyond promoting my College Fashionista articles, but I’ve had a lot going on in my life, some of it great some of it not so great. I have a more narrow idea of what might becausing all of my health issues, none of the options are really that great but at least I’m closer to being diagnosed with something so I can start properly dealing with it and taking care of myself in the right way for whatever it might be. Thankfully I was put on some pain medication which is helping a lot to make me function better! (it helps with the aches and the headaches, which means less dizziness which is a god send!).

The weirdest thing going on in my life right now is my Dad… he’s leaving on Saturday to go over seas to do some work in the Middle East. Its an incredibly weird thought for me, my Dad being half way around the world. Its going to be good for him though. He’s had a rough time the last few years being a Gereral Contractor in this economy and this is putting him back in a place of constant work and almost back up to the financial bracket he was in before (which means less stress about how to pay for my schooling and medical bills, which takes a lot of guilt and stress off of me as well). I’m so proud of him for taking the opportunity and putting himself out there and taking this risk. Its going to be weird though that I can’t just call and talk to him if I want to, and this certainly cuts down my reasons to ever go back to Florida. I dunno, I’m a bit rambly on the subject because I don’t quite have my head wrapped around it yet! He’ll be in Afghanistan and I’ll be in London! How odd.

Delayed, but as promised, my book project! I wish I could post the book up here for you all to see because I’m really excited about how it came out and I’ll be ordering a copy so I can have one to possibly try and take this idea farther… I really, really would like to! I wanted to do something fashion and style based and I got a great idea from surfing the internet while I was writing my article for College Fashionista. Why not do a style dictionary! No, no, not like the other ones that are out there, I went a little farther in my idea than the conventional idea you’d like comes from that.

I formatted the book to be a two page spread for each photo. On the left page is a definition and on the right page is a photo. I wanted to take it a little further than just street style type of photos so that I could have a wider range of things to do with the definitions. I wanted the definitions to make the person who might read the book think about the photo. For example; create. This photo is of a girl in my 3D foundations class from when we were doing our cardboard chair project. She made a chair out of cardboard that was built for holding crafting supplies while you sat on it to craft! I’m really proud of how it came out for my first attempt at a photo book, and it is definitely an idea (like I said above) that I’d love to explore and really make into a publishable book.
I wish the pink had shown better in photos in my hair! It looked so brilliant at first but it faded rather quickly (of no surprise to me, my stylist even admitted she took it off too soon and we’d just lifted my hair back to platinum so it wasn’t in the best shape to hold a fun colour anyways). But, I’m going to call her later so I can hopefully get it toned again today or tomorrow since I have some fun and exciting photos to take for College Fashionista on Monday… stay tuned for more details about that! Its a pretty big thing and I’m shocked and honoured that Amy asked me to be included! Hopefully my health and the weather cooporate on Monday!

Summer is coming up and I’m pretty stoked for it, except for the little fact that I still haven’t finished that last Intermediate photo project, but I’m determined to do so this weekend so I’m not stressing about it all summer! (We’re suppose to have 2 quarters to finish ‘Incomplete’ classes but I’ll be in England so… I don’t know how that’d work!) As long as I get the shooting done this weekend after I fix my hair and print all next weekend I should be fine (since I have until June 10th or so in reality). After that, wow, I can’t believe its almost finals! Its a little ridiculous, these last two quarters have been so stressful that I’m beyond glad for summer. I am taking two classes, and while one is a stupid 101 Communications class I’ve been putting off, I’m actually really excited about my Sophomore Seminar that I’ll be taking, its on Middle Eastern Communities around the world and its making me no longer dread and want to keep putting off taking a Sophomore Seminar because… honestly most of the other topics are rather drab sounding.

Well I think that’s about it for right now! I’ve got so much to do today so I should be off! I hope everyone is lovely and enjoying being on summer break or not stressing too hard over impending graduations and finals!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ i know, i know – 05.20.11 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

