[ drum roll please… – 3.31.11 ]

March 31, 2011 Comments Off on [ drum roll please… – 3.31.11 ]

I know I had talked about it on Tumblr but I hadn’t mentioned it to anyone else as I didn’t want to talk a lot about it and get my hopes up before I knew if I could afford to go or not…

I GOT IN AND I’M GOING!

On the 15th (of course DePaul waited until the last day they had to give us answers…) I got notification that I had been accepted for the Fall study abroad in London through the university. For a little we didn’t know if we’d be able to financially swing me being able to go, but after some figuring things out between difference in bills, grants they give to study abroad kids, and loans we can take out through the school I can go!

I’ll be studying through the University of Westminster (Harrow Campus, pictured above, photo obviously not by me) and focusing mainly on my Media Arts and Journalism degrees as they offer some great classes we don’t here at DePaul (Fashion Journalism and Colour Photography). It’s so crazy that if we do get the loan and I do go (they ‘pre-approved’ us but we’re just waiting on the official word) that I’ll be a class short of a senior when I come back next winter quarter (since the loan also means I can take another 2 classes over the summer). That puts me almost 2 full quarters ahead of schedule, which is awesome because that means if I do keep both majors and minors I’ll graduate in 4 years with everything I wanted to do completed. Needless to say, I’m really excited about finding out about this loan as it opens so many doors for me academically. I do wish I could intern through the university so they could find me my internship, but that’d require 3 FREAKING GRAND extra in tuition because the internship is 12 credits instead of the normal 6. So if I want to try and intern I have to find my own internship, which I’ve done successfully so far I’m just a little worried about trying to do it come August when I’ll still be in the states trying to find one in London before I get there! (PS. That’s Bella, Kat’s sister’s dog and my new BFF)

Now I have to do a little shameless promotion… Along with the fact that I used my CollegeFashionista stuff (and my newly revamped bio for this very blog) to enter ASOS’s Coachella contest, we have a super big event happening in Chicago tomorrow! Juicy Couture and the site teamed up to do a ‘campus tour’ and offer students (you don’t have to be a Chicago student, just have a student I.D. and be at the event) 20%, photo opportunities, and styling help!

I’m honestly more excited about meeting the other Gurus (I met Jose for the first time on Tuesday actually, very briefly) and Amy as I’ve conversed with them over twitter but haven’t actually had the chance to meet them.

There’s also a little bonus! For the Guru who brings the most friends out (someone will be asking you who referred you when you arrive) you can win a prize… so uh even if you don’t like Juicy Couture (which if you didn’t know,t hey’re so much more than sweatsuits and terry cloth purses, their spring collection is actually super cute with a lot of crocheted stuff) just uhm come out and pretend and say I sent you, winkwink nudgenudge.

On a completely unrelated non-big news note… I want to see the movie Hanna. 1) It looks good 2) I like all the actors in it 3) HELL YEAH PEOPLE WILL PROBABLY JUST SPELL MY NAME RIGHT NOW. Except not, but one can hope it at least stops the Hannah Montana stuff.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading [ drum roll please… – 3.31.11 ] at Relevant Surroundings.

meta

